Dji Mavic Pro 1 – Still a good drone in 2019?

DJI Mavic Pro Review - Still good in 2019?

Battery Life

23 min

Range

7000m

Camera

4k

Motors

Brushless

The DJI Mavic Pro became the most revolutionary drone in the market and still holds the record for the boldest move in this domain.

Nobody has seen such a well functioning and foldable drone up to that point. One that was as portable, yet delivers all the features of a professional camera, and even more!

We’re talking about 2 obstacle avoidance sensors in front, sonar sensors at the bottom and an incredible flight range.

The camera, shooting in 4k, stabilized by a superb (yet fragile looking) 3 axis gimbal was nothing short of amazing, and frankly, even in 2019… not much has changed.

Drones have definitely seen improvements, a similarly priced one being the DJI Mavic Air, that’s even smaller, yet with a less strong signal.

how-to-drone-icon

What to look for in A camera drone

Drone stability

Usually, when it comes to more advanced camera drones, they come with a way to stabilize the drone on the spot. I’m talking about GPS or optical flow cameras.GLONASS is the russian satelite system, giving even more stability points.

DJI MAVIC PRO: GPS + GLONASS

Battery life

Battery life for camera drones should be at least 15 minutes per flight.

Take in account spare batteries (for the Mavic I recommend getting at least 2)

DJI MAVIC PRO: 21 min hover until battery hits 15%; 27 min while going forward at a certain pace.

Range

Flight range can really change what sorts of images you can capture.

DJI MAVIC PRO: 7km  (3.5km in Europe)

 

Camera

Camera resolution isn’t everything. Colors, sharpness and bitrate are very important for the overall image.

DJI MAVIC PRO: 4k 1/2.3” (CMOS) sensor, 12mp

Image Stabilization

If I had to pinpoint the most important factor in a camera drone, it would be Image Stabilization. A 4k unstable camera has worse results than a gimbal stabilized 720p one.

DJI mavic Pro: 3 axis gimbal

price-and-specs-for-the-drone
back to menu ↑

DJi mavic pro Price and specs

I have owned the Original Mavic Pro for two years, now I have the Mavic Pro 2 for a few months to test it out and compare, but I must say the jump isn’t that great.

I must admit I appreciate the additional sensors for safety when following something automatically, but otherwise, the good old Mavic Pro does it’s job perfectly, and recently for a lower price!

It can still be definitely used as a professional camera drone, and the image you get from it looks quite sharp.

With a new Mavic bought from Amazon with 2 or 3 batteries included and all the needed accessories you’ll make sure it hasn’t been used up so the batteries are still at their maximum potential.

There’s also the option to buy it second hand if you want.

Specs
Camera Options
With Camera
Camera Resolution: 4k
Gopro
Features
GPS
Gimbal
Phone Controlled
Transmitter
Motor Type: Brushless
Optical Flow Stabilization
Battery Life: 23
Flight Range: 7000
Foldable
Micro SD Card
Under 250g
Drone Types
Beginner
Professional
Indoors
Racing

Here’s a daily price history, so you know if now is the right time to buy it.

Price history for DJI Mavic Pro 4K Quadcopter with Remote Controller, 2 Batteries, with 1-Year Warranty - Gray
Latest updates:
  • $875.00 - September 12, 2019
  • $889.00 - September 11, 2019
  • $859.00 - September 3, 2019
  • $889.00 - September 2, 2019
  • $859.00 - August 27, 2019
  • $889.00 - August 26, 2019
  • $859.00 - July 24, 2019
  • $859.99 - July 22, 2019
Since: May 14, 2019
  • Highest Price: $889.00 - May 14, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $859.00 - July 24, 2019

If you want to wait, please enter your email down bellow and you’ll be automatically notified when the price drops to your desired level.

Didn't find the right price? Set price alert below

Set Alert for Product: DJI Mavic Pro 4K Quadcopter with Remote Controller, 2 Batteries, with 1-Year Warranty - Gray - $875.00

Mavic pro Video Review

In this video, FliteTest did a great job having a look at this drone while testing it around to see what it’s capable of.

drone-camera-quality
back to menu ↑

Mavic pro vs Mavic air vs Mavic 2 Pro -Camera quality

Here is my video and photo comparison and commentary on the differences between the 3 Mavics in 2019. You might be surprsied of the results, but it’s really up to your personal prefference.

I did this test on a video review to show people that there are actual differences between these drones, strangely enough, many considered to like the sharper image of the older Mavic Pro, although the bitrate is lower than the other two. The Mavic 2 is definitely better when it comes to colors and clearly a better choice in low lighting.

Some people might also consider the original Mavic Pro to be a bit over-sharpened, but the details are still incredible, and I’d say I could like it more than the Mavic Air, if you ask me.

drone-transmitter
back to menu ↑

Transmitter

DJI Mavic pro

$875.00 $999.99 Buy It Now

The transmitter was also a revolutionary move at the time. Now, all the new DJI drones and many other drone companies have a very similar design, without much changing.

The LCD screen shows real time telemetry data like distance and height along with battery and signal strength.

Why is that important? There might be cases where you lose signal and want to know for sure if the drone is returning to home by itself and it’s getting closer or not.

The phone app is very well made and there are a few types of cables for the different phones you can put in there.

If you’re wondering, yes, it can support a lot of accessories, including a tablet holder and phone sunshade!

 

versus-drone-comparison
back to menu ↑

DJI Mavic Pro alternatives under $1000

Add to compare

Bellow you can check my top  drones in the same price category.

Please use the “Add to compare” button and then press on the icon on the right to compare them.

ProductRangeCamera
DJI Mavic Air – 4k compact drone for everyone
DJI Mavic Air – 4k compact drone for everyone
21 min
4000 m
4k
Add to compare
2 Parrot Anafi Drone review
Parrot Anafi Drone review
25 min
4000 m
4k
Add to compare
3 Dji Mavic Pro 1 – Still a good drone in 2019?
Dji Mavic Pro 1 – Still a good drone in 2019?
23 min
7000 m
4k
Add to compare
9.5 Total Score
Mavic Pro - a cheap professional drone relevant in 2019

Even if newer drones like the Mavic 2 series and the Mavic air have come out recently, the original Mavic is still an amazing drone, with an incredible camera that got much cheaper these days and I definitely would consider it relevant, probably even in 2020.

Build Quality
9.5
Camera quality
9.5
Flight functions
9
PROS
  • Great battery life
  • cheap price (compared to the beginning)
  • Huge Range and good signal strength
  • All the actually useful flight modes
  • Precise automatic return to home
  • Amazing 4k camera
  • 3 axis gimbal
  • Foldable design
  • Great build quality
CONS
  • No back and side sensors for obstacle avoidance (only front and bottom)
  • gimbal is a bit delicate (didn't have any problems in 2 years though)
Add your review

I'm a big drone enthusiast, the owner of DronesGator.com and I also make weekly videos on my drone YouTube channel.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Your total score

      DronesGator
      Logo
      Compare items
      • Total (0)
      Compare
      0