Drones law in Minnesota - [Know Everything Before Taking Off]
If you are about to visit Minnesota with your drone, or you already live there and want to take some drone shots, you should know all the rules and regulations of the state before even thinking about taking off.
Luckily, you have come to the right place because, in this article, I will tell you everything you need to know so that you can fly your drone without any issue at all.
Both local and state governments and the federal government of Minnesota allow recreational flyers to fly their drones within the state, provided that the pilot is following all the rules imposed by the local, state, and Federal governments.
However, recreational flyers are allowed to fly their drones, but commercial pilots can also fly their drones for business purposes as long as they are following the laws of Minnesota.
There are some rules and regulations for each drone pilot category on different levels, such as state, local, and federal laws.
Let's take a closer look at the rules and regulations for different types of drone pilots at each level.
Federal drone laws in Minnesota are different for each type of drone pilot. If you are a commercial pilot, then you must clear the FAA aeronautical knowledge test first and get a remote pilot certificate before flying your drone for business purposes.
Similarly, if you are a recreational flyer, then you will need to pass the FAA's recreational pilot test, which is also known as "TRUST." Besides that, you’ll need to register your drone with the FAA and make sure that the registration number is attached to the drone. Moreover, you will also have to pay $5 as their registration fee.
However, if you are a government employee, you will need to get a special drone certificate from the FAA, called the federal certificate of authorization (COA).
Apart from the above info, the drone's weight must not be more than 55 lbs. Also, you must always fly within the line of sight range. Otherwise, you will be violating the laws.
Minnesota also has some rules and regulations about drones that you must obey whenever you are planning to fly your drone in within the state. These laws are as follows:
If you are a commercial flyer, you will need to pay a $30 license fee to obtain your commercial operation license from Minnesota, mandatory for every commercial drone pilot.
You must register your drone with the Minnesota Department of transportation according to the Minnesota statute 360.60.
However, recreational flyers will need to follow the rules and regulations imposed by the federal government. Apart from that, government operators must also have a permit from their respective organizations.
The local drone laws in Minnesota apply to specific regions, counties, or cities within the state of Minnesota. According to the local laws of Minnesota, if you are a recreational drone pilot, you must ensure that the drone is within the line of sight range.
Apart from that, you must get a special permit from the parks or departments whenever you fly in parks. Moreover, drones are not allowed in city public airspace, and therefore, you should always avoid them within the cities.
The park ordinance also prohibits the operation of drones within the Ramsey County parks without the director's prior approval.
According to the local drone laws, you can't fly a drone over private property in MN. It is illegal to fly a drone near any building or structure unless you own the land on which they are located or have permission from the owner to operate there.
Minnesota has strict rules and regulations for both commercial and recreational drone pilots. If you are a recreational pilot, you must follow these rules; otherwise, you may get into trouble.
Not only private properties but in fact, you are also not allowed to fly your drone over public places and parks, etc., unless you have permission from the authorities.
You are not allowed to fly your drone in residential areas in Minnesota. Suppose you are a commercial pilot and fly your drone for filming purposes. In that case, you must get a specific permit from the Department of transportation and ensure that your drone is appropriately insured.
Apart from that, if you are a recreational pilot and want to fly your drone, residential areas are never a good place to fly your drone, even if you have registered your drone with the FAA and have a legal license.
It is because Minnesota strictly prohibits the fights of drones in all city public airspace.
The short answer to this question is yes. However, there are different licenses for recreational and commercial drone pilots.
If you are a commercial pilot, you will need to register your drone with the Department of transportation first. It will cost $30 to register your drone with the department of transportation.
Besides that, you will need to pass the FAA’s commercial drone pilot test first to get your federal license. Otherwise, you will not be allowed to fly your drone in Minnesota. In addition, if you are going to fly for recreational purposes, you will need to pass “TRUST” before getting your license.
Once you obtain your license, you will need to carry it with you whenever you fly your drone. This way, if law enforcement officials ask you for it, you can easily present it at that time.