MJX Bugs 2 review – best GPS drone under $200

In my experience so far, the MJX Bugs 2 has been one of the top drones under $200, or even under 400$ that I know of.

It's definitely not perfect, but this drone has all the main features you'd really need in a drone.

 In comparison, you could pay $1000 for a DJI drone that has proximity sensors and a gimbal, but the price difference is colossal.

After releasing the amazing Bugs 3, MJX has surprised us again with another low budget brushless drone which I would recommend to my best friend as a first budget camera drone.

There are basically 2 versions of this quadcopter you can get

Bugs 2 with live feed (B2W)

This is supposed to be the “professional version” that can connect to the phone through wifi

bugs 2 professional b2w
Bugs 2 Wifi version
back to menu ↑

Bugs 2 with no wifi

The B2C is the same as the B2W, but it has no wifi and you can only record video on the micro SD card

bugs 2 b2c standard version white
Bugs 2 Standard B2C
I think it's very important to see what you're recording, so I recommend you buy the Bugs B2W.
portrait-paul-archer
Paul Archer
Chief Gator
price-and-specs-for-the-drone
back to menu ↑

Price and specs

I would say this drone is a bit overpriced, as there are certain GPS drones like the JJPRO x5 EPIK that have even more features for a lower price.

However, the range of this drone is quite incredible and the camera quality is 1080p so you definitely won't be dissapointed.

 

I would recommend you buy this for taking aerial photos and videos, even if you are a beginner.

 Just make sure to fly in safe areas!

Specs
Camera Options
With Camera
Camera Resolution: 1080p
Gopro
Features
GPS
Gimbal
Phone Controlled
Transmitter
Motor Type: Brushless
Optical Flow Stabilization
Battery Life: 15
Flight Range: 1
Foldable
Micro SD Card
Under 250g
Drone Types
Beginner
Professional
Indoors
Racing

Check the price history bellow to see when it's best to buy it!

Price history for US$139.99 23% MJX Bugs 2 SE B2SE Brushless 5G WiFi FPV With 1080P HD Camera GPS Altitude Hold RC Drone Quadcopter  RC Drones from Toys Hobbies and Robot on banggood.com
Latest updates:
  • $125.99 - July 22, 2020
  • $119.99 - July 12, 2020
  • $125.99 - June 22, 2020
  • $190.14 - June 11, 2020
  • $126.99 - May 22, 2020
  • $125.99 - April 11, 2020
  • $123.99 - March 21, 2020
  • $125.99 - March 11, 2020
Since: January 11, 2020
  • Highest Price: $190.14 - June 11, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $119.99 - July 12, 2020

Didn't find the right price? Set price alert below

Set Alert for Product: US$139.99 23% MJX Bugs 2 SE B2SE Brushless 5G WiFi FPV With 1080P HD Camera GPS Altitude Hold RC Drone Quadcopter  RC Drones from Toys Hobbies and Robot on banggood.com - $125.99
back to menu ↑

My youtube review on the Bugs 2w

thuuum
back to menu ↑

How well does the Bugs 2 Fly?

It can fly for quite some time. The official time is about 20 minutes, but I found out that I can usually go somewhere under 18 minutes, depending on how I fly.

The range on it is very good for this price range. It's advertised to be over 1km , but I never tested it more than 400m.

The good thing about it is that if it loses signal it won't fly away like most drones under $200, but thanks to the GPS it actually returns to home.

bugs 2 controller live feed

Talking about GPS functionality, I have found that I constantly have over 12 satelites connected and it's recommended to have at least over 7 for a secure connection.

It hovers pretty stable most of the time in an area with a maximum range of 1 to 2 meters at most. But there are times now and then where it seems to just do really big circles around, I'm talking 10 or so meters in radius.

That usually happens when at higher altitude, but it's not really frequent.

So, if you want to let it hover and do something else in the meantime, make sure you raise it in a wide open area where there are no cables, trees or buildings around at least 50 m radius.

If you're having issues with connecting to the camera wifi do the following:

  • Download the software on the right
  • Put it on a micro SD card and instert in drone
  • power the drone on and leave it for 5 minutes
  • restart the drone

To cover all the most asked for aspects of a drone, in general, let's also talk about the camera.

It's a 2 mp 1080p true full HD camera. I'm saying true full HD, because many chinese drone makers tend to get a 480p camera and upscale it to HD.

MJX is a very trustworthy company in my experience and I was not payed to say this.

The quality of the footage isn't very satisfying, for me at least. However, we must judge it for the price you pay.

bugs 2 camera quality

And at 190 USD I don't really know a drone that has all these functions and a camera this good.

I would have prefered it to have no camera, but only an action camera mount so I can put whatever camera I want on it.

I'll try to talk with the company and maybe they will make this model in the near future.

  • An in-built camera has the benefit of being able to see live feed from your phone
  • The bugs 2 camera also is more compatible with the drone, so you won't find yourself not recording when in the air
  • an 1080p camera is pretty damn good for most people
  • however, the camera is modular and it can be replaced with a better one, if MJX will release it in the future (still can't be much improved if there won't be any stabilization)
  • a built-in camera can't be upgraded as easy as an action camera
  • the camera can't be detached for external use
drone-transmitter
back to menu ↑

Transmitter

The controller is pretty basic and easy to use. It comes with a mount for your phone and an LCD screen that shows important information.

bugs 2 transmitter telemetry data height distance signal

On the transmitter LCD you can check out

  • Signal strenght
  • Battery level for both the drone and the Transmitter
  • If the camera is recording or not
  • Distance and curent height from the point you took off.
  • Number of satelites connected

Even though the drone comes back to the take off place if the battery is running too low.

You can also check if you're recording or taking pictures and how many satelites you have connected.

It also shows telemetry data, like the altitude it's at and the distance from you. This way you can fly safer and it's also pretty satisfying to brag to your friends about how far you have been able to fly.

The buttons I found myself using the most are the Camera button and the return to home.

A thing that could be annoying is the fact that you have to calibrate the compass before every single flight.

This takes usually about 10 seconds for me and you have to turn it 3 times at first and then hold it vertically and turn it 3 times again.

I got used to this though and it's actually a good thing to do because you make sure you won't fly with a broken compass.

Don't forget to always have inserted an SD card when you want to record. It can use Cards up to 32 gb, but you won't ever need that much storage space.

The last point I want to make is very important, and it's about the motors this drone has. Brushless motors are WAY more powerful and way more durable than the cheaper counterparts, the brushed motors.

This makes it a drone that will last a whole lot of time.

This being said, I'm pretty happy with how this drone turned out to be, it's defintely not perfect, but compared to what's on the market right now, for $190 it's quite a steal.

mjx bugs 2 reivew

The bugs 3 might not be the best  for you because of the small range, and that's why the bugs 2 changes things in a pretty big way!

8 Total Score
MJX Bugs 5w - Moving camera + GPS for cheap

This drone isn't DJI level, but I really like that for under $200 you can get a very stable GPS drone, with return to home, follow me and even the ability to move the camera while in the air.

Flight Stability
8
Signal Strength
7
Camera Quality
7
Features
7
PROS
  • Stable GPS
  • Aditional functions like RTH, circle and follow
  • brushless motors
  • solid battery life
CONS
  • Live streaming range is a little bit limiting
  • Camera is not stabilized

Bugs 2

$125.99 Buy It Now
versus-drone-comparison
back to menu ↑

Bugs 2 vs other drones

Add to compare

Bellow you can check my top  drones in the same price category.

Please use the “Add to compare” button and then press on the icon on the right to compare them.

Product
JJPRO X5 EPIK review – best GPS drone under $150!
JJPRO X5 EPIK review – best GPS drone under $150!
1080p
300 m
15 min
Add to compare
2 Hubsan X4 H501s standard and advanced versions
Hubsan X4 H501s standard and advanced versions
1080p
500 m
19 min
Add to compare
3 JJRC C-Fly X7 review
JJRC C-Fly X7 review
1080p
350 m
15 min
Add to compare

Newer versions like the Bugs 2 SE or the MJX bugs 5w have appeared, which might be more tempting for some people, considering the aditional functions and even the ability to move the camera!

How do you make money with your drone, though?

Okay, so you got your new and fancy drone, but how do you stand out from any dad out there who has the same drone and watched some tutorials online?

I did exactly that and barely had any success. 

But now I’m charging 5x as much as before and even have to refuse clients from time to time.

I even bought about 7 online courses… and I didn’t make much progress.

So how did I finally make it to this level?

If you want the short answer, I learned everything from this guy Alex, who’s making $200 per hour with his drone. And he’s even teaching exactly how to do that.

This is pretty much what you need to know:

how-to-make-money-with-drones

1. Make sure you have a proper drone.

If you have any of the latest DJI Drones, like the Mavic Air 2, for example, you’re ready to start making money.

No need to overthink this, but if it’s any help, check this comparison of the best camera drones compared in 2020.

types of drones

2.Learn how to create the best content to stand out

You won’t stand out from the next dad who bought a DJI drone for Cristmass in the eyes of your clients if you don’t do this.

It’s WAY more important to know what you’re doing than the gear you have.

You’ll need to learn and master the following:

  1.  
  • Flying your drone(to stand out from people with basic drone shots)
  • Preparing for the flight and weather in advance
  • Learn the best drone settings (you need a proper setup template)
  • Create the Video Script (it's way easier if you know what to shoot)
  • Have a set of great cinematic shots you know how to do
  • Know how to edit the video so it stands out
  • Learn how to color grade

This is why you HAVE to invest in a proper way to learn things (instead of watching tutorials here and there).

3.Find clients that pay 5x more than regular

But not so fast.

You won’t make a penny if you don’t know how to find your clients.

I have struggled finding clients even when my videos were getting pretty good.

Until I learned a few tricks and how to find and approach them so they won’t be able to say no.

And what’s best, I learned how to get the price I asked for.

How can you do the same?

I have tested quite a few courses online and watched tons of videos on youtube, but frankly, I have learned more from one single course than from everything else… and all that in like a weekend.

Made back the money from this investment in myself in a single week and then much more.

 

How do I learn all of this? From youtube?

You could simply go online and learn everything in terms of video from youtube, forums, facebook groups etc.

However, let me tell you, it’s the worst way to learn all of this(and the slowest).

You won’t have a Complete Step By step guide on how to do everything.

I found myself frustrated, even after I learned how to do most of the video stuff that I still lacked some knowledge and I didn’t know why my shots weren’t standing out.

I got some general promotion ideas from some articles online, but again… I didn’t have much success and was charging too little for my time.

This is exactly where I learned how to make $200 per hour with my drone (From A to Z)

This course is hold by Alex Harris, who’s an international video creator, director, and drone operator with tons of experience.

And I had a great time stealing his know-how(and greatly profited from it, lol).

I recommend you watch his video presentation bellow and check out the course sales page. It’s quite cheap, considering you’re getting 320+ minutes of everything you need to know, step by step and 80+ minutes on how to actually find the ideal clients for you.

I'm a big drone enthusiast, the owner of DronesGator.com and I also make weekly videos on my drone YouTube channel.

13 Comments
  1. If you’re having issues with connecting to the camera wifi do the following: its not working that down load for my LG eceed 2 cell phone

  2. This should be a very awesome comment that impresses me.

  3. Help… i cannot connect to the mjx bugs wifi signal… what will i do?

  4. sweet flyer. A bit expensive for what it does and the quality of the camera but then it has a really good GPS and flies like a charm really stable even on strong wind. The battery also is on the weak side- hardly 15 min on a windy day.

  5. Download and install the update for your cam and ‘still to do? Does it improve something regardless of the problem of connecting to a cell phone?

  6. Hi Paul,
    I had problems to connect FPV beetween my Bugs 2 B2W and my smartphone Samsung A5 2017.
    So I found your website and the update for the camera module, which I installed.
    Since I installed the upgrade I cant connect to the camera not onyl FPV as well for the normal photo or video function through the remote controller. To reset it I tried for the reset the 8 seconds after beep, nothing happens. Seems that the function not working after the upgrade. Is there any possibilty to reset the camera modul to the staus befor the upgrade?

  7. HI.I had problems to connect FPV beetween my MJX B2W Bugs 2W and my smartfone Honor 7 lite. The normal photo and video function through the remote controller was Ok. After I installed the software , above on this site, I still can´t connect FPV and the smart phone. And now the normal photo and video through the remote controller don´t work eiher. Is there anything to do??
    There comes NO icon of camera on the remote controllers screen.
    Thank YOU for possible answer.

  8. I can not connect to the wifi camera on the MJX Bugs B2W with my iphone 6 or my ipad pro. I installed the camera update but that didn’t work. Any other suggestions?

    • Guys I’ll give my 2 cents worth, reason u cannot connect to the wifi is due to the fact this operates off a 5GHz channel and most phones even newer version only support 2.4GHz there is no way to bypass this unless there’s a massive wifi software update to any phone or on most phones u able to switch wifi frequency band under advanced settings. 2. 4GHz runs a longer range but at slower speeds and 5GHz runs faster speeds with a shorter range hence this method is used, best option is to find a phone that supports 5GHz or get a better drone such as the DJI Spark even newer model phones cannot run this band so before u get this drone make sure you check gsmarena for the frequency band of the phone and if you can switch or if u have the drone such as I have find a tweak to connect the app to your laptop as a laptop has and supports all frequency bands check my YouTube and Instagram for more tutorials as well @donxgraphics

  9. I see you don’t monetize your page, don’t waste your
    traffic, you can earn additional bucks every month.
    You can use the best adsense alternative for any type of website (they approve all websites), for
    more details simply search in gooogle: boorfe’s tips monetize your website

  10. I’ve had nothing but trouble with this drone, the battery that came with it was faulty. I can get it to fly but can’t connect it to my Galaxy Note 8 phone. It’s a heap of junk, don’t waste your money. The instructions are vague at best YouTube videos are much better. I wouldn’t give this piece of crap away it’s so bad.

    Leave a reply

    Logo
    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Compare
    0