Share on Pinterest

MJX Bugs 3h review – an upgrade to my favorite GoPro drone

The bugs 3 from MJX was a total hit when it was launched.

A drone with brushless motors and good quality components for under $100? GIMME!

However, MJX hasn’t been sitting on their ass lately, and this time they have improved a bit on that model by adding an altitude hold function and changing some aesthetics.

This article will help you decide if it’s worth it for you to buy!

Battery Life

15 min

Range

300m

Camera

1080p

Motors

Brushless

Before we dive deeper into details, let me tell you that if you already have a perfectly functional Bugs 3, it’s pretty much not worth investing in this new upgraded version.

But otherwise, it might be the best drone those money can buy!

Don’t forget to use the quick navigation to jump to what you’re interested about most, or simply check the entire article, especially if it’s your first drone.

I have also made a video review on my youtube channel (that you should subscribe to).

The video is going to be embedded down bellow, so happy reading!

 

The main problem with the drone right now is for people who already have the bugs 3. It’s simply not worth to buy it for the altitude hold improvement. But if you don’t have it, it’s perfect for your action cam.

If you want to pay a little less, check out my original bugs 3 review.It’s a fantastic drone!

price-and-specs-for-the-drone

Price and specs for the bugs 3h

The bugs 3h has no real comparison in the drone world. Most action camera drones either don’t have brushless motors, yet are as cheap as the Bugs 3h or they do have good motors and even GPS, but are way more expensive. I’m talking about $150 more.

Specs
Camera Options
With Camera
Camera Resolution: 1080p
Gopro
Features
GPS
Gimbal
Phone Controlled
Transmitter
Motor Type: Brushless
Optical Flow Stabilization
Battery Life: 15
Flight Range: 300
Foldable
Micro SD Card
Under 250g
Drone Types
Beginner
Professional
Indoors
Racing

More expensive gopro drones, over $250 usually, also tend to come with GPS, which is a benefit compared to the Bugs 3h, however, people have different bugdets, and there simply aren’t any other better drones to compare with the BUGS 3h at this price range.

Price history for Mysterystone Bugs 3 RC Quadcopter Drone with 2 Batteries, 2 Extra Sets of Blades, Brushless Drone with GoPro Camera Mount 18min Flight Time 300m Long Range Remote Control Wind Resistance Drones Black
Latest updates:
  • $82.99 - November 7, 2019
  • $89.99 - November 4, 2019
  • $82.99 - August 1, 2019
  • $84.99 - July 31, 2019
  • $82.99 - July 30, 2019
  • $84.99 - July 26, 2019
  • $82.99 - July 25, 2019
  • $84.99 - July 18, 2019
Since: June 12, 2019
  • Highest Price: $89.99 - November 4, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $79.99 - July 16, 2019

Didn't find the right price? Set price alert below

Set Alert for Product: Mysterystone Bugs 3 RC Quadcopter Drone with 2 Batteries, 2 Extra Sets of Blades, Brushless Drone with GoPro Camera Mount 18min Flight Time 300m Long Range Remote Control Wind Resistance Drones Black - $82.99
Average Score 8
PROS:
  • Brushless motors
  • high carrying capacity
  • can mount a gimbal
  • good battery life
  • fast
CONS:
  • no serious improvement from the original bugs 3

My video review on the Bugs 3H - youtube

I’ll update the article with new links as soon as the quadcopter can be bought by itself(without the camera).

In the video bellow I have unboxed and reviewed the entire drone along with some video fotage both from the original c5000 mjx camera and my SJCAM sj7 action cam.

versus-drone-comparison
back to menu ↑

Compare bugs 3h with other drones

Bellow you can check my top  drones in the same price category.

Please use the “Add to compare” button and then press on the icon on the right to compare them.

Product
JJPRO X5 EPIK review – best GPS drone under $150!
JJPRO X5 EPIK review – best GPS drone under $150!
1080p
300 m
15 min
Add to compare
2 Hubsan X4 H501s standard and advanced versions
Hubsan X4 H501s standard and advanced versions
1080p
500 m
19 min
Add to compare
3 JJRC C-Fly X7 review
JJRC C-Fly X7 review
1080p
350 m
15 min
Add to compare
whats-in-the-drone-package
back to menu ↑

What's in the package

You’re getting quite a lot in the package with this drone. Right now you can find both the quadcopter with the mjx camera in the package or the version without a camera (so you can add your own action cam).

What you’re getting in the package:

  • 1 quadcopter
  • 8 propellers
  • 1 1800mAh battery
  • Instruction manual + transmitter button scheme
  • key for prop removal + screwdriver
  • prop guards
  • balance charger + charging cable
The 720p camera I have comes separately, although can be bought along with the drone.
I’d recommend you get the 1080p package, for about $5 more.
 

Best action cameras for Bugs 3h

These are my best camera choices for under $150 that are also very good (i’m talking as good as a gopro  hero 4). There’s a video comparison between the three down bellow.

Aproximative price: $130

Firefly 8S 4k camera

This wins the first spot for me when it comes to action cameras for drones in general. This is because of its incredible video stabilisation.

  • best video stabilization
  • records 4k 30fps
  • 170 degrees recording
  • 1080P / 120fps
  • Chipset: Ambarella A12S75  (one of the best on the market)
  • has downloadable FPV app

SJcam SJ7 - my current cam

This is a very capable camera overall with a very good build. I recommend it for a great “general use” action cam. The footage is well stabilized, but not as good as the Firefly mentioned earlier.

  • best build quality
  • records 4k 30fps
  • 166 degrees recording
  • 1080P / 120fps
  • Chipset: Ambarella A12S75  (one of the best on the market)
  • can see live feed on phone

Aproximative price: $150

Aproximative price: $120

ThiEYE T5e 4k

This is the cheapest of the 3, yet comes with the same sensor, so it pretty much records the same. It comes with good video stabilisation, but the build quality is a little bit 

  • cheapest (yes still great quality)
  • records 4k 30fps
  • 170 degrees recording
  • 1080P / 120fps
  • Chipset: Ambarella A12S75  (one of the best on the market)
  • can see live feed on phone
  •  has super wide view mode
drone-camera-quality
back to menu ↑

How good is the bugs 3h original camera?

If you want to get the standard package, with the included camera, you’ll have to choose between 2 versions: the c5000(720p) and c6000(1080p).

Always choose the 1080p version, because it’s only $10 more expensive and has 5 mp instead of 2 AND the higher resolution.

Pluses and minuses of getting the original camera

Positives

  • Don't need to charge it (works from the drone battery)
  • pretty damn cheap package( you pay about $50 for the full HD cam)
  • View range is better
  • works with the original MJX app

Negatives

  • Drains the drone battery a little faster(because it doesn't charge beforehand)
  • Lower quality footage (max 1080p)
  • doesn't have image stabilization
8 Total Score
A very capable Gopro drone

Features
8
Durability
7.5
Flight time
8.5
Camera
7
PROS
  • Brushless motors
  • high carrying capacity
  • can mount a gimbal
  • good battery life
  • fast
CONS
  • no serious improvement from the original bugs 3
Add your review

MJX Bugs 3H

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Your total score

      close

      Copy and paste this code to display the image on your site

      DronesGator
      Logo
      Compare items
      • Total (0)
      Compare
      0

      Be updated

      Want to be the first to find out about newly released drones?