Review: Rolling Spider – Parrot minidrone

Parrot rolling spider drone review in 2020

Parrot has done a pretty good job making the Rolling Spider a drone that uses technology to it’s best advantage, even though it has an entry level price.

The relative small size of this quadcopter enables it to both fly inside in a controlled fashion thanks to its sensor and also outside, in not-so windy weather.

It comes out of the box with no remote controller. It operates from an app on your smartphone or tablet called Free Flight 3 with quite a few cool options.

Being not so much of a standard RC drone, it can’t be piloted with tight turns. This drone was made more as a technological show-off. The flight being more autonomous than other drones in this price range.(which is actually a pretty good thing, especially for beginners)

price-and-specs-for-the-drone

Price and specs

It's quite obvious that Parrot is keeping their prices low for the toy level drones. Amazon has quite some surprising prices, especially for refurbished items, that indeed work!

Specs
Camera Options
With Camera
Camera Resolution: ~
Gopro
Features
GPS
Gimbal
Phone Controlled
Transmitter
Motor Type: Brushed
Optical Flow Stabilization
Battery Life: 7
Flight Range: 50
Foldable
Micro SD Card
Under 250g
Drone Types
Beginner
Professional
Indoors
Racing
Price history for Parrot Mambo Fly - Code, Pilot and Play
Latest updates:
  • $104.49 - March 6, 2020
  • $106.39 - February 13, 2020
  • $113.49 - February 5, 2020
  • $80.79 - January 23, 2020
  • $88.17 - January 21, 2020
  • $152.88 - January 15, 2020
Since: January 15, 2020
  • Highest Price: $152.88 - January 15, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $80.79 - January 23, 2020

Didn't find the right price? Set price alert below

Set Alert for Product: Parrot Mambo Fly - Code, Pilot and Play - $104.49
drone-camera-quality
back to menu ↑

Rolling spider camera- An unique angle

Camera-wise, the Spider drone is once again quite an interesting piece of technology. The downward facing camera takes pictures non stop while in flight so it can estimate the position relative to the ground and hover in the same spot.

Yes, you heard that right, the camera is facing downward and helps with stabilizing the drone by calculating where it's at. It works almost like a GPS.

This downward facing sensor is very similar with what's found these days in 
Phantom 4 drones and even on the Mavic pro.

Which, by the way, happens to be my favorite camera drone.

parrot-spider-camera-sensor

Selfies and pictures can also be taken with this 0.3 megapixels camera, just enough to capture the surprised faces of your neighbors. 

The altitude sensor is pretty much self explanatory.Another piece of equipment that makes this quad even more tech-sufficient.

These are images taken with the downward-facing camera on this drone under $30 and they can get pretty amazing, depending how creative you are.

back to menu ↑

How well does the minidrone fly?

As mentioned before, the rolling spider is controlled by using an app called Free Flight 3 on your phone or tablet. 

The drone does a great job at maintaining its position if needed. This makes it easier for beginners to fly as it doesn’t require much experience and prevents unwanted accidents.

This also means it might not be as fun to pilot for some people as a standard remote drone, but each with his own preferences. 

You can even put your phone down and leave it to hover in the same spot for the entire battery duration.Something most other small RC drones can’t do.

parrot-minidrone-flying-with-phone

Changing elevation and rotation is an easy job and is done with precision. 

With the three control modes to choose from, flying this drone is quite a user friendly experience:

  • Normal Mode - easiest to pick as a beginner
  • JoyPad Mode - the one I recommend. With controls similar to a standard drone (it disables the use of your smartphone accelerometer)
  • Ace Mode -is a combination between the two
back to menu ↑

Parrot Rolling Spider Flight tutorial

Parrot themselves made a great video tutorial to teach you how to fly. This can also help you decide if the drone is fun enough for you.

Watch the video bellow.

The wheels enable the drone to roll on different surfaces like your kitchen ceiling or a tree trunk.

Making matrix moves has never been so easy! 

All kindzzz of flips can be performed with the help of the app(including barrel rolls), although you can’t flip to the side when the wheels are attached.

 The only downside to using the app is that the sensors can bug sometimes and the drone might fly into the ceiling then stop and drop on the ground.

drone-rolling-off a wall
back to menu ↑

Battery and range

The distance at which the drone can be controlled is about 20-25 m. An interesting feat is “hand launching” where you through the drone in the air from your hand and it starts hovering automatically. 

It’s also good to know that it has propeller cutout in case of collision so it won’t continue spinning in case it hits a wall or a …human * cough*

Charging this drone takes quite a while (aprox 90 min) and it has a flight time of 7-8 min, depending on the usage and flips done.

 Flying it without the wheels consumes less battery(about one minute less), but also makes it more susceptible to damaging the props. 

Battery life is comparable to other drones of this size out there, but it's easy to solve this problem if you get a spare battery.

parrot-rolling-drone-for-sale
parrot-rolling-drone-for-sale

Rolling Spider

$104.49 $109.99 Buy It Now
versus-drone-comparison
back to menu ↑

How does it compare to other similarly priced drones?

parrot-rolling-drone-for-sale
Add to compare

Bellow you can check my top  drones in the same price category.

Please use the “Add to compare” button and then press on the icon on the right to compare them.

ProductRangeBatteryCamera
MJX Bugs 3 review – Best Cheap Brushless GoPro Drone( In-Depth review)
MJX Bugs 3 review – Best Cheap Brushless GoPro Drone( In-Depth review)
300 m
15 min
1080p
Add to compare
2 Ryze DJI Tello Review
Ryze DJI Tello Review
100 m
12 min
720p
Add to compare
3 ThiEye Dr.X Review
ThiEye Dr.X Review
50 m
7 min
1080p
Add to compare

How do you make money with your drone, though?

Okay, so you got your new and fancy drone, but how do you stand out from any dad out there who has the same drone and watched some tutorials online?

I did exactly that and barely had any success. 

But now I’m charging 5x as much as before and even have to refuse clients from time to time.

I even bought about 7 online courses… and I didn’t make much progress.

So how did I finally make it to this level?

If you want the short answer, I learned everything from this guy Alex, who’s making $200 per hour with his drone. And he’s even teaching exactly how to do that.

This is pretty much what you need to know:

how-to-make-money-with-drones

1. Make sure you have a proper drone.

If you have any of the latest DJI Drones, like the Mavic Air 2, for example, you’re ready to start making money.

No need to overthink this, but if it’s any help, check this comparison of the best camera drones compared in 2020.

types of drones

2.Learn how to create the best content to stand out

You won’t stand out from the next dad who bought a DJI drone for Cristmass in the eyes of your clients if you don’t do this.

It’s WAY more important to know what you’re doing than the gear you have.

You’ll need to learn and master the following:

  1.  
  • Flying your drone(to stand out from people with basic drone shots)
  • Preparing for the flight and weather in advance
  • Learn the best drone settings (you need a proper setup template)
  • Create the Video Script (it's way easier if you know what to shoot)
  • Have a set of great cinematic shots you know how to do
  • Know how to edit the video so it stands out
  • Learn how to color grade

This is why you HAVE to invest in a proper way to learn things (instead of watching tutorials here and there).

3.Find clients that pay 5x more than regular

But not so fast.

You won’t make a penny if you don’t know how to find your clients.

I have struggled finding clients even when my videos were getting pretty good.

Until I learned a few tricks and how to find and approach them so they won’t be able to say no.

And what’s best, I learned how to get the price I asked for.

How can you do the same?

I have tested quite a few courses online and watched tons of videos on youtube, but frankly, I have learned more from one single course than from everything else… and all that in like a weekend.

Made back the money from this investment in myself in a single week and then much more.

 

How do I learn all of this? From youtube?

You could simply go online and learn everything in terms of video from youtube, forums, facebook groups etc.

However, let me tell you, it’s the worst way to learn all of this(and the slowest).

You won’t have a Complete Step By step guide on how to do everything.

I found myself frustrated, even after I learned how to do most of the video stuff that I still lacked some knowledge and I didn’t know why my shots weren’t standing out.

I got some general promotion ideas from some articles online, but again… I didn’t have much success and was charging too little for my time.

This is exactly where I learned how to make $200 per hour with my drone (From A to Z)

This course is hold by Alex Harris, who’s an international video creator, director, and drone operator with tons of experience.

And I had a great time stealing his know-how(and greatly profited from it, lol).

I recommend you watch his video presentation bellow and check out the course sales page. It’s quite cheap, considering you’re getting 320+ minutes of everything you need to know, step by step and 80+ minutes on how to actually find the ideal clients for you.

I'm a big drone enthusiast, the owner of DronesGator.com and I also make weekly videos on my drone YouTube channel.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Logo
      Compare items
      • Total (0)
      Compare
      0