Ryze DJI Tello Review

Ryze Tello - best selfie drone under $100?

Battery Life

12 min

Range

100m

Camera

720p

Motors

Brushed

Tello has been released for some time now, yet even a few months later it's my favorite drone under $100.

 We'll see if there are going to be any new technologies in 2019, but as far as I know, it's very hard to beat the price and capability of the Tello.  There are some rumors for the Tello 2, but nothing concrete.

It excels when it comes to photos, and I mean it completely rocks!

The video is also stabilized, which is something I have never seen at this price range, although it does have some interference because it doesn't record on a micro SD card as IT SHOULD!

The Tello is made by Ryze, a relatively new drone company, but has been popularized by the use of parts provided by DJI, which  is the biggest drone company on the market. Even the guys at Intel have their part in building this drone.

how-to-drone-icon

What to look for in a camera drone

Image stability

You should look for the following in a drone if you want good image stability:

  • A 2 or preferably 3 axis gimbal is the best possible way to stabilize a camera. It's usually found in more expensive builds.
  • Electronic image stabilization. Drones like Parrot Bebop 2 or even the cheaper Tello have it.
  • Get yourself a GO Pro drone and use a very stable Action cam with electronic or optical image stabilization!

Battery Life

This is generally valid for any type of drone. How long it stays in the air is even more important for making sure you take a certain shot, usually with more expensive camera drones in professional setttings.

You should be looking for over 15 minutes of battery life when it comes to drones that you want to use to make money or create videos with. Taking the right picture also requires some time, and you don't want to be in a hurry when you do it.

Drone GPS and stabile flight

You can take very nice shots with a drone that only has the previous items we've talked about, but if you want to be stress free… having a stable drone or GPS is the way to go.

I'm not even getting into the ability to take timelapses, but having a solid stable drone is necesary for not begin stressed by the wind taking it away while you change the camera settings.

price-and-specs-for-the-drone
back to menu ↑

Tello Price and specs

I usually only try to make an individual review to drones that I consider that are worth it when it comes to their price.

So we agreed that this is a very good price for a drone of these specs, but who is the drone actually made for?

I recommend the folowing uses for the Tello:

  1. As a selfie drone (take amazing 4k photos in a park or the places you visit)
  2. As a learning drone for the basics ( I would use a cheaper drone for this, but the tello has the advantage of amazing flight stability)
  3. As a video toy drone ( the stabilized video is quite amazing to have at this price, although it won't compare to something like a DJI spark for example)
Specs
Camera Options
With Camera
Camera Resolution: 720p
Gopro
Features
GPS
Gimbal
Phone Controlled
Transmitter
Motor Type: Brushed
Optical Flow Stabilization
Battery Life: 12
Flight Range: 100
Foldable
Micro SD Card
Under 250g
Drone Types
Beginner
Professional
Indoors
Racing

Here's a dainly price history for the DJI Tello, so you know if now is the right time to buy it.

Price history for Tello Quadcopter Drone
Latest updates:
  • $99.00 - March 6, 2020
  • $95.00 - March 5, 2020
  • $99.00 - February 29, 2020
  • $87.97 - February 27, 2020
  • $84.99 - February 24, 2020
  • $85.97 - February 22, 2020
  • $89.00 - February 9, 2020
  • $79.00 - January 22, 2020
Since: January 15, 2020
  • Highest Price: $99.00 - January 15, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $67.10 - January 17, 2020

If you want to wait, please enter your email down bellow and you'll be automatically notified when the price drops to your desired level.

Didn't find the right price? Set price alert below

Set Alert for Product: Tello Quadcopter Drone - $99.00

Ryze Tello video Review

$99.00 8 used from $68.22 20 new from $94.99
in stock
Tello Quadcopter Drone
$149.99 $164.99 1 used from $109.00 4 new from $149.99
in stock
Tello Drone Quadcopter Elite Combo with 3 Batteries, 4 Port...
versus-drone-comparison
back to menu ↑

Ryze Tello vs other drones

Add to compare

Bellow you can check my top  drones in the same price category.

Please use the “Add to compare” button and then press on the icon on the right to compare them.

ProductRangeBatteryCamera
MJX Bugs 3 review – Best Cheap Brushless GoPro Drone( In-Depth review)
MJX Bugs 3 review – Best Cheap Brushless GoPro Drone( In-Depth review)
300 m
15 min
1080p
Add to compare
2 Ryze DJI Tello Review
Ryze DJI Tello Review
100 m
12 min
720p
Add to compare
3 ThiEye Dr.X Review
ThiEye Dr.X Review
50 m
7 min
1080p
Add to compare

If we don't only judge by price we should take note of a few other drones that serve pretty much the same purpose, and can actually be cheaper.

I have written an article comparing the Tello to the XIaomi Mitu, which at the time was its main competitor. However, recently I have found out a similar drone made by an action cam company.

The drone is called Thieye Dr.X and even though it's cheaper I got some really amazing results when comparing it to the two mentioned previously.

drone-camera-quality
back to menu ↑

How good is the camera?

Tello has a camera that sets it apart from many drones previously. It's capacity to take photos is impressive and the video is stabilized as mentioned earlier.

Not only that, it comes with quite a long batery life of 12 minutes. It's very long considering the next best thing when it comes to battery life is twice the price.

Tello photo samples

These photos are downscaled from the original bigger resolution, that is because I wanted this page to be able to load before you get bored an leave.

You can click bellow and download the original images if you want to analyze them at their best.

Tello

9 Total Score
The most popular drone under $100

This quadcopter is quite stunning, as it comes with image stabilization and even some flight modes and a very nice battery life!

Video Quality
9
Flight stability
8.5
Photo Quality
9.5
PROS
  • very good battery life
  • flight modes
  • stabilized video
  • very good photos
  • can use a separate controller
CONS
  • video can be glitchy

How do you make money with your drone, though?

Okay, so you got your new and fancy drone, but how do you stand out from any dad out there who has the same drone and watched some tutorials online?

I did exactly that and barely had any success. 

But now I’m charging 5x as much as before and even have to refuse clients from time to time.

I even bought about 7 online courses… and I didn’t make much progress.

So how did I finally make it to this level?

If you want the short answer, I learned everything from this guy Alex, who’s making $200 per hour with his drone. And he’s even teaching exactly how to do that.

This is pretty much what you need to know:

how-to-make-money-with-drones

1. Make sure you have a proper drone.

If you have any of the latest DJI Drones, like the Mavic Air 2, for example, you’re ready to start making money.

No need to overthink this, but if it’s any help, check this comparison of the best camera drones compared in 2020.

types of drones

2.Learn how to create the best content to stand out

You won’t stand out from the next dad who bought a DJI drone for Cristmass in the eyes of your clients if you don’t do this.

It’s WAY more important to know what you’re doing than the gear you have.

You’ll need to learn and master the following:

  1.  
  • Flying your drone(to stand out from people with basic drone shots)
  • Preparing for the flight and weather in advance
  • Learn the best drone settings (you need a proper setup template)
  • Create the Video Script (it's way easier if you know what to shoot)
  • Have a set of great cinematic shots you know how to do
  • Know how to edit the video so it stands out
  • Learn how to color grade

This is why you HAVE to invest in a proper way to learn things (instead of watching tutorials here and there).

3.Find clients that pay 5x more than regular

But not so fast.

You won’t make a penny if you don’t know how to find your clients.

I have struggled finding clients even when my videos were getting pretty good.

Until I learned a few tricks and how to find and approach them so they won’t be able to say no.

And what’s best, I learned how to get the price I asked for.

How can you do the same?

I have tested quite a few courses online and watched tons of videos on youtube, but frankly, I have learned more from one single course than from everything else… and all that in like a weekend.

Made back the money from this investment in myself in a single week and then much more.

 

How do I learn all of this? From youtube?

You could simply go online and learn everything in terms of video from youtube, forums, facebook groups etc.

However, let me tell you, it’s the worst way to learn all of this(and the slowest).

You won’t have a Complete Step By step guide on how to do everything.

I found myself frustrated, even after I learned how to do most of the video stuff that I still lacked some knowledge and I didn’t know why my shots weren’t standing out.

I got some general promotion ideas from some articles online, but again… I didn’t have much success and was charging too little for my time.

This is exactly where I learned how to make $200 per hour with my drone (From A to Z)

This course is hold by Alex Harris, who’s an international video creator, director, and drone operator with tons of experience.

And I had a great time stealing his know-how(and greatly profited from it, lol).

I recommend you watch his video presentation bellow and check out the course sales page. It’s quite cheap, considering you’re getting 320+ minutes of everything you need to know, step by step and 80+ minutes on how to actually find the ideal clients for you.

I'm a big drone enthusiast, the owner of DronesGator.com and I also make weekly videos on my drone YouTube channel.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Logo
      Compare items
      • Total (0)
      Compare
      0