Sharper Image Dx-4 drone review 2018

The fourth installment of the popular “Sharper Image” series of drones has outdone the previous models in everyway.

It's still a very affordable drone, toy grade level, but the Sharper Image Dx-4 comes with a few improvements that will make your flight experience slightly better. 

The overall design for the Sharper Image is very sturdy , with few moving parts.So it can take it's fair share of beating.

drone-camera-quality

Camera Quality - Is it sharp?

Don't expect anything extraordinary from the camera of this drone. But I must admit that for the price, it's a pretty good quality image.

Not only that, the camera can also change angles beforehand so you can capture whatever you want.

You can't save the photos and videos in an SD card, but they save automatically on your phone through the app that it comes with.

To connect it to your phone and see the live feed from the camera you first have to:

  1. Download the application for Ios or android
  2. Connect the phone to the drone wifi
  3. Enter the app
There is surprisingly not much lag through the app compared to other drones that I know.
price-and-specs-for-the-drone
back to menu ↑

Price and Drone specs

Altitude hold - is it any good?

Altitude hold means the drone will keep a steady altitude with the help of a barometer inside. This will mean a more stable image quality and less controller adjustment to worry about.

It's perfect for beginners who want to learn the basics of controlling

Specs
Camera Options
With Camera
Camera Resolution: 720p
Gopro
Features
GPS
Gimbal
Phone Controlled
Transmitter
Motor Type: Brushed
Optical Flow Stabilization
Battery Life: 8
Flight Range: 100
Foldable
Micro SD Card
Under 250g
Drone Types
Beginner
Professional
Indoors
Racing

360 degree flips

By the press of a button you can do automatic flips and rolls in any direction you want. This is purely for the fun of it, but it's bettery than you might think!

Price history for Sharper Image Hobby Drone Novelty, Black
Latest updates:
  • $115.99 - January 15, 2020
  • $80.32 - January 7, 2020
  • $115.99 - December 31, 2019
  • $80.32 - December 12, 2019
  • $84.55 - December 8, 2019
  • $81.27 - December 2, 2019
  • $84.55 - December 1, 2019
  • $89.00 - November 5, 2019
Since: September 30, 2019
  • Highest Price: $115.99 - December 31, 2019
  • Lowest Price: $80.32 - December 12, 2019

Didn't find the right price? Set price alert below

Set Alert for Product: Sharper Image Hobby Drone Novelty, Black - $115.99

Here's a video review showing a few of the functions of the Sharper Image drone:

versus-drone-comparison
back to menu ↑

Sharper Image DX 4 vs other drones

This drone isn't something special on it's own, but considering the quite low price, and the fact that you can hit everything in sight and it will still work, I say it's quite a worthwile buy.

But how does it compare with other Drones in the same price category?

Add to compare

Bellow you can check my top  drones in the same price category.

Please use the “Add to compare” button and then press on the icon on the right to compare them.

ProductRangeBatteryCamera
MJX Bugs 3 review – Best Cheap Brushless GoPro Drone( In-Depth review)
MJX Bugs 3 review – Best Cheap Brushless GoPro Drone( In-Depth review)
300 m
15 min
1080p
Add to compare
2 Ryze DJI Tello Review
Ryze DJI Tello Review
100 m
12 min
720p
Add to compare
3 ThiEye Dr.X Review
ThiEye Dr.X Review
50 m
7 min
1080p
Add to compare
drone-transmitter
back to menu ↑

The controller

The controller is a little bit bigger than I expected, but the range and functions on it work pretty good!

There are 3 different pitch rates on the transmitter:

  • Low speed
  • Medium
  • And High

It comes with Auto-takeoff button, so make sure that you don't have any obstacles above it. This will make the quadcopter launch itself and hover a few feet above the ground.

As you could see in the video above, the quadcopter can be piloted even inside with very precise stability, although it isn't that small.

The higher flight rate will also allow it to face some quite powerful winds, but make sure you have mastered the basics of flight before you get too adventurous. 

What is the range for the Dx-4 Sharper Image?

It can go up to a maximum of 450 feet (about 130m), which is not so bad, considering you probably won't even be able to see it from that point on!

6.5 Total Score

Flight stability
7.5
Battery life
7.5
Build quality
6
Camera Quality
6
PROS
  • The drone is very sturdy
  • It's quite cheap
  • It can do flips
  • has auto landing and takeoff
  • comes with it's own phone app
CONS
  • not the greatest camera quality
  • can't be flown inside very well

Sharper Image Dx 4

$115.99 $149.99 Buy It Now

How to find the best drone for your needs

You can check out our drone searching tool and see what drones are for sale, filter them by price and other specs like battery life, range, weight, etc.

You can click the button  bellow to use the tool.

I'm a big drone enthusiast, the owner of DronesGator.com and I also make weekly videos on my drone YouTube channel.

4 Comments
  1. Hi love your review! I have 3 of these DX-4 Drones. Two have removable battery covers. Inside of drone A is a battery plug that is red in color, and has larger than drone B prop studs being black in color. Drone B has removable battery cover, with a white battery plug, and white prop mount studs smaller in size than drone A.
    Drone C has no battery door, and black prop mounting studs.
    Can you explain the order of production, and the differences in the 3 models of the DX-4?

  2. Is there an app for miphone to fly the craft?

  3. There are so many, too many DX models in the series/versions with the upgrades/improvements to follow. The DX2, DX3,DX4, DX4 new body, DX4 Streamin Edition, DX4 Streaming Quad, DX4 Video Quad, DX4 Video Wdiriib, at al. Then the DX 1, DX4 2 and ? And 2 o3 styles of batt. hook up. I wonder if Sharper Image knows? I fly SYMA now. All top quality all around.

  4. I have a dx4 it took a crap on me, after less than 30 minutes of flight time. The light come on and just flash steady. Charged and new batteries did nothing. Used it 6 times no damage let it sit over the winter and now it’s worthless, save your money.

    Leave a reply

    DronesGator
    Logo
    Compare items
    • Total (0)
    Compare
    0