Autel EVO drone Review – The perfect DJI Mavic Alternative

Autel Evo Review - The DJI competitor we deserve

Battery Life

30 min

Range

7000m

Camera

4k

Motors

Brushless

The Autel Evo was a complete surprise to me, as before knowing what it does, I expected it to be another DJI copycat with the performance of the original Mavic Pro at higher prices. 

But I couldn't be more wrong.

After experiencing it first hand, it suddenly became one of my top recommendations under $1000.

Keep reading if you're interested in having 4k 60p recording, a solid stable gimbal, huge battery life and no worry for always connecting the phone to the transmitter!

how-to-drone-icon

What to look for in A camera drone

Drone stability

Usually, when it comes to more advanced camera drones, they come with a way to stabilize the drone on the spot. I'm talking about GPS or optical flow cameras.

Evo:GPS+GLONASS + optical flow sensors

Battery life

Battery life is very important and at this price you should expect nothing under 20 minutes

Autel Evo: 30min advertised (26 minutes in real life)

Range

If you plan to fly anywhere over the limit of your sight you should look for a drone that can fly over 500m at least.

Autel Evo: 7km (about 4km in Europe)

 

Camera

Camera resolution isn't everything. Colors, sharpness and bitrate are very important for the overall image.

Autel Evo: 4k 60p 100mbps

Image Stabilization

If I had to pinpoint the most important factor in a camera drone, it would be Image Stabilization. A 4k unstable camera has worse results than a gimbal stabilized 720p one.

Evo: 3 axis gimbal and dampening pads

price-and-specs-for-the-drone
back to menu ↑

Autel Evo Price and specs

Every drone should be evaluated not only by what the individual drone specs, but also by what the accessories are and what you're getting in the package.

The package you can get for under $1000 is quite complete, coming with a backpack, the spare propellers you probably won't even use because this thing can't really crash and that amazing controller with an in-built screen.

Manufacturer Accessories Include:

  • Remote Controller
  • Power Cable
  • Micro-USB Cable
  • USB-C Cable
  • Remote Controller Cable
  • Intelligent Battery
  • 3x Propeller Pairs
  • microSD Card


Additional Accessories Include:

  • SanDisk Ultra 32GB microSDHC Memory Card with Adapter
  • Sling Backpack
  • Microfiber Cleaning Cloth
Specs
Camera Options
With Camera
Camera Resolution: 4k
Gopro
Features
GPS
Gimbal
Phone Controlled
Transmitter
Motor Type: Brushless
Optical Flow Stabilization
Battery Life: 30
Flight Range: 7000
Foldable
Micro SD Card
Under 250g
Drone Types
Beginner
Professional
Indoors
Racing

A more complete package would require maybe $100 to $200 more from your pocket, but it will come with aditional Micro SD cards, bags and more batteries.

You'll definitely need at least one spare battery to get the most out of this drone, especially if you're gonna use it in a professional setting.

The drone can fly super fast with 72 km/h or simply lower it up to walking speed to make very smooth video.

One big advantage of this quad is that it can take off anywhere, as it doesn't have any geofencing, like DJI drones.

Here's a daily price history, so you know if now is the right time to buy it.

Price history for Autel Robotics EVO Drone Camera with On-The-Go Bundle ($220 Value)
Latest updates:
  • $979.00 - March 13, 2020
  • $995.00 - March 6, 2020
  • $997.00 - March 4, 2020
  • $1,099.00 - March 3, 2020
  • $1,049.00 - February 17, 2020
  • $1,099.00 - February 13, 2020
  • $998.00 - February 11, 2020
  • $1,099.00 - February 9, 2020
Since: February 4, 2020
  • Highest Price: $1,099.00 - February 9, 2020
  • Lowest Price: $979.00 - March 13, 2020

If you want to wait, please enter your email down bellow and you'll be automatically notified when the price drops to your desired level.

Didn't find the right price? Set price alert below

Set Alert for Product: Autel Robotics EVO Drone Camera with On-The-Go Bundle ($220 Value) - $979.00
drone-camera-quality
back to menu ↑

Camera quality vs Mavic 2 Pro

The camera has the main outstanding features:

  • it can record in h.265 codec
  • 100mbps
  • 4k in 60 fps (so you can do slight slow motion in high quality, or simply for smoother footage)

The main difference compared to some very expensive drone like the Mavic 2 Pro is the field of view that's wider and better to capture landscapes better. But it's also a downside if you want to focus a subject closely, which many times might be the case.

That means you have to physically move your drone closer to the subject, which means more intrusive flight.

The autel Evo is a drone with incredible image stabilization and the quality itself is definitely better than the original Mavic Pro and sometimes on par with Mavic 2 Pro or even better (subjective matter at this point).

 

drone-transmitter
back to menu ↑

Transmitter and App

Autel Evo

$979.00 $1,219.00 Buy It Now

The transmitter is quite unique and I'd say superior to anything DJI has to offer, simply thanks to its quality and incorporated 3 inch screen.

It also has a smartphone mount on top that can be extended to support a tablet (with a special accessory).

It comes with a gimbal pitch and selection wheel on top so you can go in the menu easily directly from the controller.

 

The phone app is also very simple and well made, with the main camera settings at the bottom for easy access.

The drone doesn't have as many automatic flight modes as DJI, but it does come with things like “follow me”, waypoints and so on.

versus-drone-comparison
back to menu ↑

Evo drone alternatives (similar price)

Add to compare

Bellow you can check my top  drones in the same price category.

Please use the “Add to compare” button and then press on the icon on the right to compare them.

ProductRangeCamera
DJI Mavic Air – 4k compact drone for everyone
DJI Mavic Air – 4k compact drone for everyone
21 min
4000 m
4k
Add to compare
2 Parrot Anafi Drone review
Parrot Anafi Drone review
25 min
4000 m
4k
Add to compare
3 Dji Mavic Pro 1 – Still a good drone in 2019?
Dji Mavic Pro 1 – Still a good drone in 2019?
23 min
7000 m
4k
Add to compare
9 Total Score
Autel Evo - a real DJI competitor

Although DJI has captured the entire marked when it comes to drones (and recently action cameras), Autel, a USA based company, has managed to release this drone for under $1000 that's an absolute beast with 4k 60fps footage, great flight stability and overall high end specs, which makes it better than the original Mavic Pro, yet less expensive compared to the Mavic 2 series, although not far apart in quality.

Video quality
9.5
build quality
10
Flight modes
8.5
Flight stability
9
PROS
  • 4k 60fps
  • 72km/h (speed is adjustable)
  • 3 inch display on controller (phone is not necessary)
  • very fast to get it in the air
  • Many proximity sensors
  • 30min battery (26 min in real life)
  • No limitation to fly anywhere
  • foldable design and great quality
  • amazing customer support
CONS
  • not as many automatic flight modes as DJI

How do you make money with your drone, though?

Okay, so you got your new and fancy drone, but how do you stand out from any dad out there who has the same drone and watched some tutorials online?

I did exactly that and barely had any success. 

But now I’m charging 5x as much as before and even have to refuse clients from time to time.

I even bought about 7 online courses… and I didn’t make much progress.

So how did I finally make it to this level?

If you want the short answer, I learned everything from this guy Alex, who’s making $200 per hour with his drone. And he’s even teaching exactly how to do that.

This is pretty much what you need to know:

how-to-make-money-with-drones

1. Make sure you have a proper drone.

If you have any of the latest DJI Drones, like the Mavic Air 2, for example, you’re ready to start making money.

No need to overthink this, but if it’s any help, check this comparison of the best camera drones compared in 2020.

types of drones

2.Learn how to create the best content to stand out

You won’t stand out from the next dad who bought a DJI drone for Cristmass in the eyes of your clients if you don’t do this.

It’s WAY more important to know what you’re doing than the gear you have.

You’ll need to learn and master the following:

  1.  
  • Flying your drone(to stand out from people with basic drone shots)
  • Preparing for the flight and weather in advance
  • Learn the best drone settings (you need a proper setup template)
  • Create the Video Script (it's way easier if you know what to shoot)
  • Have a set of great cinematic shots you know how to do
  • Know how to edit the video so it stands out
  • Learn how to color grade

This is why you HAVE to invest in a proper way to learn things (instead of watching tutorials here and there).

3.Find clients that pay 5x more than regular

But not so fast.

You won’t make a penny if you don’t know how to find your clients.

I have struggled finding clients even when my videos were getting pretty good.

Until I learned a few tricks and how to find and approach them so they won’t be able to say no.

And what’s best, I learned how to get the price I asked for.

How can you do the same?

I have tested quite a few courses online and watched tons of videos on youtube, but frankly, I have learned more from one single course than from everything else… and all that in like a weekend.

Made back the money from this investment in myself in a single week and then much more.

 

How do I learn all of this? From youtube?

You could simply go online and learn everything in terms of video from youtube, forums, facebook groups etc.

However, let me tell you, it’s the worst way to learn all of this(and the slowest).

You won’t have a Complete Step By step guide on how to do everything.

I found myself frustrated, even after I learned how to do most of the video stuff that I still lacked some knowledge and I didn’t know why my shots weren’t standing out.

I got some general promotion ideas from some articles online, but again… I didn’t have much success and was charging too little for my time.

This is exactly where I learned how to make $200 per hour with my drone (From A to Z)

This course is hold by Alex Harris, who’s an international video creator, director, and drone operator with tons of experience.

And I had a great time stealing his know-how(and greatly profited from it, lol).

I recommend you watch his video presentation bellow and check out the course sales page. It’s quite cheap, considering you’re getting 320+ minutes of everything you need to know, step by step and 80+ minutes on how to actually find the ideal clients for you.

I'm a big drone enthusiast, the owner of DronesGator.com and I also make weekly videos on my drone YouTube channel.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Logo
      Compare items
      • Total (0)
      Compare
      0